Tekst van Vademecum voor Nederlands-Nieuw-Guinea, 1956 komt binnenkort!

  • Sorong, Capital of the subdivision of the same name.
    Source: Handbook on Netherlands New Guinea, 1958
    Population Papuans Europeans Asiatics Total
    Subdivision 17,642 1,764 5,362 24,763
    Capital 5,885 1,749 5,306 12,940
    Sorong includes two areas, "Sorong-Doom" and "Sorong Vaste Wal" (Sorong-ashore), also known as "Sorong Oil".
    Sorong-Doom is situated on the island of Doom, approximately one nautical mile off the coast. It used to be the administrative center of the division of West Netherlands New-Guinea and of the subdivisions of Sorong and Raja Ampat. Recently the Sorong subdivisional center has been moved to Sorong-Vaste Wal, for which purpose the Netherlands New Guinea Petroleum Company had vacated part of the so-called Remoo-land, some four miles south of the oil center. The Resident Officer for West Netherlands New Guinea transferred his headquarters to Manokwari in March 1957.
    Sorong Oil is a community by itself, where living conditions differ greatly from those in other parts of New Guinea. The Netherlands New Guinea Petroleum Company, for example, makes available furnished quarters, engages well-trained servants for its employees, operates well-stocked commissaries, has its own hospital and medical staff, runs electric power plants and provides for many other facilities.
    From Sorong the Royal Packet Company maintains regular shipping services to Hollandia, Merauke and Singapore. The KLM Royal Dutch Air Lines maintain a bi-weekly service between Biak and Sorong.

  • Links naar photo's en verhalen komen binnenkort.
  • Links to photos and stories to follow soon.
  • Sorong
  • Back to Towns and Villages

    Last updated October 28, 2003
    © 2000-2005 Peter van der Heijden. All rights reserved
    Site Map